top of page
bouteille-verre-clos-ste-hune.jpg

Riesling
Clos Sainte Hune

"If there is one Riesling in the world that every wine lover dreams of tasting and savoring, it is the Clos Sainte Hune...", Serge Dubs, Best Sommelier of the World 1989.

 

For many lovers of great whites, it is true that Clos Sainte Hune is a dream and is one of the greatest, rare and majestic white wines in the world.

 

Pierre Trimbach, our distinguished winemaker since 1979, positions this Riesling as our great white wine with an incredible minerality, perfect balance and endless length, simply because it comes from an exceptional parcel.

A unique and magical terroir in the Grand Cru Rosacker in Hunawihr, this vineyard, which has belonged to the Trimbach family for over 200 years, covers 1.67 hectares. 

 

The first label found on the estate, identical to the one we have today, dates from 1919. A date that inspires peace... just like the place that inspires some to spirituality. In the heart of the Clos Sainte Hune, close to the very old vines of the plot, there is a very particular atmosphere, singular, which calms the morals.

 

The ancient legend tells that in the time of the Kings, during a year of dearth, Huna, the wife of Hunon, King of Hunawihr, succeeded in changing the water of the village fountain into wine. 

This legend of Sainte Huna gave the name to our exceptional parcel, because of its unique terroir.

Trimbach-Vendanges-96.jpg
Trimbach-Vendanges-16.jpg

The parcel of only 1.67 hectare is located at mid-slope of the Grand Cru Rosacker (26.1 hectares in total).

 

It lies as if in a circus, well protected from the winds. The late and dry character of the terroir allows a slow and healthy maturation of the grapes, planted more than 80 years ago for the oldest vines, 100% Riesling of course. Botrytis is rare (only two vintages have been produced with the "mention" Late Harvest : 1983 and 1989).

 

The deep, chalky soil provides good water and mineral resources. The acidity of the wine is always ripe and powerful.

The wines produced are pure, mineral, complex, dry, powerful, concentrated, with a rare elegance and endless length.

The exposure of the plot is south and south-east, as our plot is slightly sloping. The slope is rather gentle.

 

We literally walk on the limestone mother rock at the entrance of the plot : Muschelkalk and Lettenkohle mother rock. The soil is marly-limestone, calci-magnetic, with calcareous and dolomitic pebbles, very deep and heavy in texture. 

 

The meso climate of Clos Sainte Hune is cool and dry. The Vosges mountains being relatively close, the Clos Sainte Hune benefits from the shadow effect, which allows to regulate the temperature of the plant material. This results in a later harvest than some other Grands Crus. The wind coming from the Vosges touches the Clos, which is located in a kind of basin between Hunawihr and Ribeauvillé.

As the Grand Cru has never been claimed, the wine is classified as AOP. 

The pruning is done in double guyot, Poussard style.

The yield is maximum 55 hl/ha as for all the 51 Grand Cru of Alsace, but often less, depending on the vintage. The density of plantation is average 5500 vines per hectare. The vines are at least 60 years old on average. The oldest were planted well over 80 years ago. Even Bernard Trimbach (born in 1932) does not know when they were planted... The resulting production is usually around 7000 bottles. Sometimes less, sometimes more, depending once again on the vintage.

The parcel is worked in organic viticulture since 2008, after years in reasoned fight. Not a single pesticide or insecticide has been used at Trimbach. The sheep have been grazing there since 2008 after harvests, during Winters. 

 

Year after year, Clos Ste Hune is a high class wine, racy, refined, elegant, with ripe fruits and a pronounced minerality that give it its unique temperament. Of course, it is vinified dry.

 

When tasters talk about Clos Ste Hune, the words that always come up are its harmony, energy, minerality, incredible length and ageing capacity...

Trimbach-Vendanges-84.jpg

Our new generation Trimbach, the 13th, (Anne, Julien, Frédérique and Pauline), remains in the same perpetual search for balance as the previous generation. 

 

We can say that we are however more sensitive to the work of the soil in harmony with the ground and the vine, the use of reparative wild plants, some biodynamic preparations and the cosmic rhythms. It is the balance of a whole that makes the good of each part.

 

Clos Ste Hune is seen as the pearl of our domain. The parcel, the mythical or mystical place, makes one dream. Who said that plants don't have a soul ? 

Depending on the vintage and the volume of juice after pressing, Clos Sainte Hune is vinified in old casks or sometimes even in stainless steel tanks. Fermentation at around 18-20 degrees Celsius lasts for a few weeks on average. The wine is aged on fine, thin lees before a gentle filtration. The wine is bottled in the Spring following the harvest and the bottles are carefully kept for a few years in our cellar before being sold.

We advise lovers of this great wine to wait at least 10 years, or more. It is today that the great vintages produced by Bernard Trimbach (photo opposite) are at their peak (1971, 1976, 1979, etc.).

It was Sylvain Tesson who said in his superb book La Panthère des Neiges: "I had learned that patience was a supreme virtue, the most elegant and the most forgotten..."

Clos Ste Hune is a wine that needs time and patience... 

unnamed (17).jpg
bottom of page

bouteille-verre-clos-ste-hune.jpg

Le Riesling
Clos Ste Hune

« S’il est un Riesling au monde que tout amateur de vin rêve de goûter et de savourer, c’est bien le Clos Sainte Hune… », Serge Dubs, Meilleur Sommelier du Monde 1989.

 

Pour beaucoup d’amateurs de grands blancs, il est vrai que le Clos Ste Hune fait rêver et fait partie des plus grands, rares et majestueux vins blancs du monde.

 

Pierre Trimbach, notre vinificateur émérite depuis 1979, positionne ce riesling comme notre grand vin blanc doté d’une minéralité incroyable, à l’équilibre parfait et la longueur interminable, tout simplement parce qu’il provient d’une parcelle d’exception.

Terroir unique et magique dans le Grand Cru Rosacker à Hunawihr, ce clos qui appartient à la Famille Trimbach depuis plus de 200 ans s’étend sur 1,67 hectare. 

 

La première étiquette retrouvée au domaine, identique à celle d’aujourd’hui à quelques détails près, date de 1919. Une date qui inspire la paix … tout comme le lieu qui inspire certains à la spiritualité. Il y a, au coeur du Clos Sainte Hune, proche des très vieilles vignes de la parcelle, une atmosphère tout à fait particulière, singulière, qui apaise les moeurs.

 

La légende ancienne raconte qu’au temps des Rois, lors d’une année de disette, Huna, l’épouse de Hunon, Roi de Hunawihr, réussit à changer l’eau de la fontaine du village en vin. 

Cette légende de Ste Huna a donné le nom à notre parcelle exceptionnelle, de par son terroir unique.

Trimbach-Vendanges-96.jpg
Trimbach-Vendanges-16.jpg

La parcelle de seulement 1,67 hectare est situé à mi-coteaux du Grand Cru Rosacker (26,1 ha au total).

 

Elle se love comme dans un cirque, protégée des vents. Le caractère tardif et sec du terroir permettent une maturation lente et saine des raisins, plantés il y a plus de 80 ans pour les plus anciens pieds de vignes, 100% Riesling bien entendu. Le botrytis y est rare (deux millésimes seulement ont été produits en Vendanges Tardives  : 1983 et 1989).

 

Le sol, profond, calcaire, procure de bonnes ressources d’eau et de minéraux. L’acidité du vin est toujours mûre et puissante.

Les vins qui en sont issus sont purs, complexes, secs, puissants, concentrés, avec une rare élégance et une longueur interminable.

L’exposition de la parcelle est sud et sud-est, car notre parcelle est légèrement en dévers. La pente y est plutôt douce.


Nous marchons littéralement sur la roche mère calcaire à l’entrée de la parcelle : roche mère de Muschelkalk et de Lettenkohle. Sol marno-calcaire, calci-magnétique, avec cailloutis calcaires et dolomitiques, très profond et de texture lourde. 

 

Le méso-climat du Clos Sainte Hune est frais et sec. Le massif vosgien étant relativement proche, le Clos en bénéficie par un effet d’ombre portée, ce qui permet de réguler la température du matériel végétal. Il en résulte une vendange plus tardive que certains autres Grands Crus. Le vent en provenance des Vosges effleure le Clos situé dans une sorte de cuvette entre Hunawihr et Ribeauvillé.

Le Grand Cru n’ayant jamais été revendiqué, le vin est classé en AOP. 

La taille est réalisé en guyot double, style Poussard.

Le rendement y est de maximum 55 hl/ha comme pour tous les Grands Crus d’Alsace, mais souvent moins, selon le millésime. La densité de plantation est de 5500 pieds par hectare. L’âge des vignes est d’au moins 60 ans en moyenne. Les plus anciennes ont été plantées il y a bien 80 ans. Même Bernard Trimbach (né en 1932) ne sait pas quand elles ont été plantées… La production qui en découle avoisine les 7000 bouteilles en général. Parfois moins, parfois plus, tout dépend encore une fois du millésime.
La parcelle est travaillée en bio depuis 2008, après des années en lutte raisonnée. Pas un pesticide ni un insecticide n’a été utilisé chez Trimbach. Les moutons ont le plaisir d’y paître depuis 2008 pendant l’hiver. 

Année après année, le Clos Ste Hune est un vin de grande classe, racé, raffiné, élégant, aux fruits bien mûrs et doté d’une minéralité prononcée qui lui donnent son tempérament unique. Bien entendu, il est vinifié sec.

 

Lorsque les dégustateurs parlent du Clos Ste Hune, les mots qui reviennent systématiquement sont son harmonie, son énergie, sa minéralité, sa longueur incroyable et sa capacité de vieillissement…

Trimbach-Vendanges-84.jpg

Notre nouvelle génération Trimbach, la 13ème, (Anne, Julien, Frédérique et Pauline), reste dans la même mouvance de recherche perpétuelle d’équilibre que la génération précédente. 

 

Nous pouvons dire qu’elle est cependant plus sensible au travail du sol en harmonie avec la terre et la vigne, les plantes sauvages réparatrices, les préparats biodynamiques et les rythmes cosmiques. C'est l'équilibre d’un tout qui fait le bien de chacune des parties.

Le Clos Ste Hune est perçu comme la perle de notre domaine. La parcelle, le lieu mythique ou bien mystique fait rêver. Qui a dit que les raisins n’avaient pas d’âme ? 

Selon le millésime et le volume de jus, le Clos Sainte Hune est vinifié en vieux foudre ou parfois même en cuve inox. La fermentation autour de 18-20 degrés Celsius dure de 3 à 4 semaines en moyenne. Le vin est élevé sur lies fines avant une filtration douce. La mise en bouteilles est faite au Printemps qui suit la vendange et les bouteilles sont gardées précieusement quelques années avant la mise en vente. Nous conseillons les amateurs de ce grand vins de l’attendre au moins 10 ans, ou bien plus. C'est aujourd'hui que les grands millésimes produits par Bernard Trimbach (photo ci-contre) sont à leur apogée (1971, 1976, 1979, etc.).

 

C’est Sylvain Tesson qui disait dans son superbe livre la Panthère des Neiges : « J’avais appris que la patience était une vertu suprême, la plus élégante et la plus oubliée. (…) »

Le Clos Ste Hune est un vin qui nécessite du temps… de la patience… 

unnamed (17).jpg